top of page
About: Section Title

Welcome to
Balasore Art & Crafts College

About: Team Members

 Sj . Nikunja Behari Das

Principal ,BACC

About Us :

About: Headliner

Balasore Art & Crafts College, Kalakshetra was established in the year 1994 by the private management Dr.Harish Ch. Jena was the first President of this college.


The Institution was conceived in the mind of some enthusiastic persons in the Balasore district in the year 1994 on the culturally rich soil of Balasore. It started to be groomed in the span of time and after so many dedications it stood as a pioneer art and Craft Center of the Northern Orissa. It extends its support to the artist of Orissa, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhatisgarh and Bihar. But the Financial crisis bottlenecked the development process and stood as a solid barrier in the process. In the pace of time, the effort of the Board of Management succeeded and could able to draw the kind attention of some eminent politicians like Sj.Ramachandra Khuntia(MP,Rajyasabha), Sj.M.A Kharabela Swain(MP,Lokasabha), Sj.Mannmath Nath Das (M.P, Rajyasabha), Sj.Rabindra Kumar Jena (M.P,Balasore), Sj.Sudarshan Jena (MLA ,Remuna),Sj. Gobinda Chandra Das (MLA,Remuna),Sj.Ranjan Kumar Pradhan (Member ,Zilla Parishad). Their grants of M.P Lad & MLA Lad money and some private donations laid a strong foundation for the institution and established a four-storied building of 20,000 sq.ft.area.Hostel four-storied building of 8000 sq. ft area. The institution has different departments like Painting, Sculpture, Graphic Art, Applied Art, Indian Painting, Pottery & Ceramic, Computer Graphics & Animation, Photography, etc. The institution imparts education to 1015 students in the present context and is the only Art & Crafts College of the State to have Post Graduate course on Painting & Applied Art at the Under Utkal University of Culture.


Governing Body Members Of Balasore Art & Crafts College :   


  1. Sj. Rabindra Kumar Jena           ( President )

  2. Sj. Sangram Kumar Das            ( Secretary )

  3. Sj. Bishnu Mohanty                  ( Member )

  4. Sj. Sitikantha Dixit                   ( Member )

  5. Sj. Gouri Shankar Nayak            ( Donor )

  6. Sj. Prasanta Das                       ( Member )

  7. Sj. Sk. Amanulla                        ( Minority Representative )

  8. Mis. Niharika Pattaanayak          ( UUC Nominee )

  9. Sj. Biplab Kumar Mohanty          ( UUC Nominee )

  10. Sj. Sanjay Kumar Sahu               ( V.C. Representative )

  11. Dr Debashis Mishra                   ( Member )

  12. Sj. Nikunja Behari Das                ( Principal )

  13. Sj. Sangeet Samantray               ( Teacher's Representative )

  14. Sj. Sujit Kumar Das                    (Non-Teaching Staffs Representative )

bottom of page